



KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission Announces the

8th ANNUAL SIMON "MABHUNU" SABELA

KZN FILM AND TELEVISION AWARDS

WINNERS

The 8th Annual Simon 'Mabhunu' Sabela KZN Film and Television Awards took place virtually on 12 September 2020. The prestigious awards were aimed at recognising outstanding achievement and talent in the film and television industry, with a particular focus within the KwaZulu-Natal province.

The awards, named in honour of the late South African Film legend and icon Mr Simon 'Mabhunu' Sabela, are an initiative of the KZN Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs are implemented by the KZN Film Commission will again be held during this year's Durban International Film Festival.

The Chief Executive Officer of the KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission, Carol Coetzee, said: "KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission remains committed to creating an enabling environment that will ensure growth and transformation in the local film industry. We take this opportunity to congratulate all those who have been nominated in the various categories and more so those that won."

The following are the winners for the 8th Simon Sabela KZN Film and Television Awards.

1. Best Newcomer Actress

Yola Plaatjie- Dreams of Gomorrah

2. Best Newcomer Actor

Aaqil Hoosen- Kings of Mulberry Street

3. Best use of KZN in a Music Video (new category)

Duncan Feat. Prince Bulo - AmaWeave

4. Best Actress

• Ngobile Khumalo - Uncovered

5. Best Actor





Robert Hobbs- Uncovered

6. Best Supporting Actress

Rizelle Januk - Kings of Mulberry Street

7. Best Supporting Actor

• Mfana Jones Hlophe - Dreams of Gomorrah

8. Best Director

Zuko Nodada - Uncovered

9. Best Micro-Budget Film now known as Best Made For TV Film

• Siyabonga Godfrey Dlamini- Nomthawelanga

10. Best Short Screenplay

• Thulile - Megan Van Der Merwe

11. Best Feature Screenplay

Kandasamys: The Wedding – Jayan Moodley & Rory Booth

12. Best Use of KZN in a Film

• Kings of Mulberry Street - Judy Naidoo

13. Best Film

Uncovered - Thandeka Nodada

14. Best Short Film

• Dreams of Gomorrah - Sithabile Mkhize

15. Best IsiZulu Film





• Izinyoni Zohlobo - Dr Nontethelelo Nxumalo

16. Best Documentary

• Buddha in Africa - Nicole Schafer

17. Best Environmental Film

Phefumula - Pragna Parsotam-Kok

18. Best Student Film

• Thulile - Andre Cronje

About the KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission

The KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission is a provincial state entity, under the Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs (EDTEA), in the Province of KwaZulu-Natal South Africa established in terms of the KwaZulu-Natal Commission Act, 2010 (Act No 3 of 2010). Its mandate is to facilitate support throughout the value chain to the local and international film industry through creating opportunities and growing the KwaZulu-Natal film industry.

If you would like more information about this topic, please contact

Mr Mu Ngcolosi 0823735120

Email: MuN@kwazulunatalfilm.co.za.

www.kznfilm.co.za Facebook: @KZNFilm Twitter: @kznfilm Instagram: @kznfilm